After a week of travel, it feels good to be home.

I learned a lot, and found new inspiration, and made new connections at work, but I felt like my week was like putting all my eggs in one basket.  It was all work, and no home.

I realized how much I need home, how much I thrive and feel complete when I’m in my own space, with my Scott and my Nia.  I realize that I can’t do what Anthony Bourdain does, even though deep down I want to visit all of those places and learn all about their culture.

I learned a lot, but not about the food.  And when I returned, all I wanted was flaxseed and vegetable juice, and nothing processed.  I wanted to kiss the ground when we came returned back to Portland.  Thank you for fresh juice, and choose your number flush toilets, and hybrids and electric cars everywhere.

Granola was calling.  I needed preservative free, be nice to myself breakfast.  With a little yogurt and honey, it was a much needed first meal of the day.  It feels good to be home.

DIY Granola

Makes enough for a few weeks worth of breakfast/snacks

2 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/2 cup almonds, chopped

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

4 tablespoons ground flaxseed

1/4 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup coconut oil

1. Preheat oven to 325.  Heat oil and syrup in small saucepan over low heat, until coconut oil melts.

2. In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients.  Slowly pour liquid and fold into dry ingredients.

3.  Spread mixture onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes to prevent scorching.

