I thought I totally missed October.

I wanted to wear scarves, and bake things with cinnamon and pumpkin, and ride my bike on a crisp sunny day, and drink bourbon, and have a fire, and let a furry pet hang out with me on a cold day.

I got to do those things, plus.  Plus more.  Plus rake leaves, and go to the farmers market, plus watch football, and read this book, try a new tea place in town with a friend, and get moonshine at the local bar with Scott.

October is one of those months where I can’t keep the pace.  It has those random sunny days where you need to rake leaves, take a hike, ride the bike, clean out the gutters and the garden. It’s the last month before red, green and Bing Crosby.  Wrapping paper and how many pounds of turkey?  Organizing silverware drawers and needing Excedrin Migrane for seeing-so-much-red-my-head-is-pounding moments.

And when everyone has had enough of the pumpkin, I felt it was time to get it started.  I found this recipe from Joy the Baker.  It’s a moist pumpkin bundt cake with a cinnamon glaze.  The recipe calls for vegetable oil, but I’m kind of freaked out by veggie oil.  It always smells rancid and weird to me, and never seems to look great when you pour it in the mixture.  So I swapped it for this guy.

I’ve never cooked with Coconut Oil, but it’s waayyy better for you that uber processed vegetable oil, and since I bought it from Costco, I have 78 ounces of the stuff.

Anyway, the result was amazing.  And Scott, who doesn’t like coconut, didn’t detect any sort of flavor in the cake.  I don’t know what the veg oil would have done, but I noticed a lack of heavy, greasiness I’ve experienced with other recipes using vegetable oil.

As for the cake?  It’s sweet, but not overly.  If you’re looking for something other than pie, this is a good pick.

Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Cinnamon Glaze

Adapted from Joy the Baker Cookbook

For the Cake:

2 cups granulated sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon table salt

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup buttermilk (to make your own, pour 1/4 cup milk, then add a 1/4 tablespoon lemon juice and let sit for 15 minutes)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups (15 ounce can) pumpkin puree

4 large eggs

For the Glaze:

2 tablespoons softened butter

2 tablespoons softened cream cheese

1 cup powdered sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray or grease and flour a Bundt pan and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, buttermilk, vanilla and pumpkin puree.  After it’s well blended, add eggs one at a time, allowing each one to mix entirely before adding the next.

4.  All at once, pour the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well, making sure not to miss any dry flour.

5. Pour batter into pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from oven and let rest for a half hour, before inverting onto cake platter.

6.  Using an electric mixer, or a good whisk, mix together all of the glaze ingredients.  Spread evenly over cake.  You can either drizzle over the top, or spread thinly over entire cake.

Cake will last for about 4 days unrefrigerated.

