Tags

,

Can I tell you a secret?  

When you’re asked to bring something for Thanksgiving, tell them you’ve got the cranberries.

You can totally multitask while you’re making them.  I looked at pictures on Instagram and ripped out and organized my pots/pans/baking dish cabinet while making these.

You only need three ingredients, not counting the water.

Cranberry sauce was always old news to me.  This is my mom’s dish.  Whether we stayed at home, or went to our neighbor’s for dinner, the cranberries were our family’s contribution.  I never realized the deliciousness of this dish until I heard the reactions.  The mmmms.  The shocked, “whoa-these cranberries are really good” reaction.  But there’s something to it.  The way the sweet, juicy oranges compliment the tartness of the cranberries, that compliment the rest of the savory Thanksgiving dishes.

Make it this year, well, unless you have your own favorite cranberry recipe.  I promise, even if you hate it, it will have only taken up 15 minutes of your life.

But I bet you’ll dig it.  And so will your Thanksgiving table.

Mom’s Cranberry Sauce 

Makes enough for 4-5 side servings

1 12 ounce bag cranberries

1 cup granulated sugar

1 11 ounce can mandarin oranges (soaked in its own juice), drained

Rinse and sort the cranberries, by tossing any that are white, or mushy.

In a saucepan, bring 1 cup of water and the sugar to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low.  Add the cranberries, and let simmer for 10 minutes.  Cranberries will begin to pop.

Remove from heat.  Add oranges.

Chill in refrigerator until ready to eat.

Can be made up to five days in advance.  Good for 1 week.

