Tags

, ,

I keep reminding myself that it’s December.

IMG_0052

My world has been spinning these past few weeks, and I’m still processing the fact that Thanksgiving was so last month.  Mornings begin before 6 or 5 or 4am.  These mornings have lunch breaks at 7:30am, and afternoons that go spinning from 2pm to 5p.m in one quick email.  I arrive home exhausted and starving, have a drink and something frozen from Trader Joe’s, and crash on the couch.

Sunday was different.  Both of us had the day off, and started the day with a brisk walk on one of my favorite streets in town.  It was still before noon when we were done, and I felt like I owned the day.  I was free to do whatever I pleased. So I turned the oven on, played chemist in the kitchen, watched football with Scott, and took advantage of having a home day.

Nia Fire

I’ve become a real fan of bourbon, especially in the cold, dark months of winter.  And when paired with orange, bitters, and cherry?  It’s the perfect drink to remind me that we’re half way through December.

IMG_0050

Old Fashioned

Note: We got talked into a $20 bottle of lime bitters a few years ago at a salt shop on the East side of town (read: hipster street), couldn’t find anything worth putting it in, and let it sit in the cabinet.  Scott found it one day, messed around and put it in the drink, and it’s awesome.  So if you find yourself with some hipsters who have lime bitters in their possession (wait, are we hipsters?), you can throw a couple dashes in your drink, but it’s not necessary.

3 1/2 ounces bourbon

1/2 ounce blood orange bitters

2 dashes Angostura bitters

1/2 ounce grenadine

1 ounce filtered water

1/4 teaspoon Agave Nectar

1/4 ounce lemon juice

2 healthy slices of an orange

Cherries, for garnish

Combine all ingredients but the orange in a rocks glass.  Stir, then squeeze the orange slices and throw in the drink.  Top with ice and enjoy!

