Tags

, , , ,

My college professors believed that in order to be a good writer, you’ve got to be a good reader.

(And by good, they meant reading until your eyes go dry and you cannot possibly keep your eyelids open for another millisecond longer.)

I think the same thing can be said about life.  In order to be good at life, you have to be good at taking time off.

Since the last time I took time off was August, it was time.

coast1

sandhikegoldie with a stick

We hit the coast for a day.  I got my haircut.  I read a book.  I slept in.  I did some mega yoga. We celebrated Groundhog Day by going for a hike.  And we watched the Super Bowl with a friend.

And when I returned to work five days later?  Everything was great. I realized I had been mulling over daily annoyances without seeing the big picture.  I think I was just deeply tired.

Vacations are absolutely necessary.  Going places and seeing new things are amazing, and can be totally mind-blowing, but it’s really, really nice to stay at home and know that you can do whatever you want, and there are days (versus just one) to get those few errands you wanted to get done, done.

And now I feel refreshed, rejuvenated, and better.  And along the way?  I rediscovered a Negroni.  It reminds me of two extremes: bitter and sweet.  And when they meet, it creates a warm, orangey balance that’s just pure pleasure.  Like the balance you need from taking time off sleeping in and staying in your pj’s til noon (if you want to), and working until oblivion, or at least that point where you realize you’ve been plugging away for 12 hours.

Oh, and also?  It’s about the easiest drink to make and remember (ratio is 1-1-1).  Just don’t forget that orange peel.  It really links the bitter and sweetness.

negroni

Negroni

2 ounces gin (I prefer Beefeater)

2 ounces Campari

2 ounces Sweet Vermouth

Orange twist

Combine the gin, Campari and vermouth in an old-fashioned glass filled with ice and stir.  Garnish with an orange twist.

