IMG_0623

I’m too lazy to make a flag cake.  And I’m too much of a snob to buy one of those frosting-overloaded ones at the store.  And it’s 900 degrees out.  And I’d rather be outside.  And I’m filled with excuses.

IMG_0612IMG_0613IMG_0619

But I can make ice cream when I’m lazy.  And I can make it fast.  And it doesn’t make the house 1000 degrees.  And I’d rather have ice cream than cake.

The only thing? You need an ice cream maker.  But it’s one investment that’s totally worth it.

Dairy-Free Strawberry Ice Cream

(makes 1 pint, plus a bowl)

Note: I think the best fruity ice cream, when mixed with coconut milk, is a 1:2 ratio of fruit to milk.  Anything more and it turns into more of a sorbet.  Anything less, and the flavor isn’t as pronounced.

1 can coconut milk (about 2 cups)

1 1/3 cups strawberries, washed and quartered

1 shot vodka (optional, but keeps ice cream from getting that icy texture, since the alcohol won’t freeze)

1/4 cup superfine sugar

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

1. Using a potato masher, blender or an immersion blender, blend together the strawberries and sugar, either leaving bits, or blending it until smooth, depending on your preference.

2. Using 1 cup of the strawberry mixture, stir in the vanilla and coconut milk.

3. Freeze according to the ice cream maker manufacturer directions.

